Sweet Business

The sweetest a business can be, is to be profitable and easy at the same time. And when you think about it, what can be better in business than combines these both: easiness and big income?

I am double majoring in Business Administration and in Journalism Mass media Communications, so as a curious amateur journalist and also as a future business administration graduate, I decided to find out more about what exactly is considered as a “Sweet Business”.

Starting the blog recently, inspired me and made me wanting to know more if people who are into the desserts industry, do it because they love it, or because it is profitable. For instance, Dunkin Donuts it’s a huge American donut, baked goods company as well as a coffee chain. This company is not only established in US but it has branches all over the world, and this makes it a global company. The profits that Dunkin Donuts makes, to me, are unimaginable. And isn’t this what all business people want; A well-established company that is known by everybody. Add to that formula a bunch of sugar, chocolate and caramel, and tell me if this kind of business is not sweet!

In order to discover more about the subject of sweet businesses, I did my own little research in the city where I’m living, Blagoevgrad. Blagoevgrad is a city in Bulgaria, that I thought is not very big but it turns out to be quite the opposite. I study in an American University here, and the dorm where I live, and the community I am part of is a pretty closed community, so I cannot say that I am an active citizen of Blago. “Baking Love” pushed me out of my comfort zone this time. I went out there in search of a sweet business without even having a precise idea what was I actually looking for! And… there it was, right in front of my eyes: “Ani’s Donuts” just behind Prego Restaurant. I went inside of the store to get a donut to my morning coffee, and on my way back to classes, I was so satisfied and happy that I had randomly found a donut shop in Blagoevgrad (I almost thought the only thing they have for breakfast in Blago is banitca). I just wanted to meet the person who started that business, and moreover I was curious about the name that coincided to be the same as mine, Ani. So long story short, I bring my Bulgarian friend with me one day and just go there. We asked if I could interview the owner of the place, and the old nice lady just called her immediately and gave us the phone. So we set an interview place and date.

I finally met Ani on Saturday. She had two lovely kids, and she was the kind of person who would smile the whole time. Lucky me, she could speak Greek, and my best friend is fluent in Greek too, so she translated for me the whole time. Ani offered us some coffee and donuts during the interview to make the interview even friendlier. Her business in Blagoevgrad is pretty new. She started it a year and a half ago. It took me just a simple question to understand how much she actually loves what she does. I asked her how does this business affect her life… “Mine? My life? It sweetens it!! I like it! I like it very, very much!”

DSC_0048                      DSC_0062

7 thoughts on “Sweet Business

  1. “I do what I love and I love what I do”! That’s summarizes what Annie is trying to say and I fully agree with the last sentence of Ani that the new business she has opened it affects her life, her family life, it sweetens her life and perhaps many others who do taste her donuts. Well done Ani and Annie 🙂

  2. Thank you so much Silva. Everybody this is my mom that supports me with everything I do…She is also a great baker. Stay tuned: there are going to be some photos of her “Specialties” posted on Baking Love’s facebook page!

  3. Pingback: Baking Love

Leave a Reply

